Computer Gaming

Linux Chat

Building Websites

Computer Forums

Computer Help Forum

Computer Hardware Forum

Computer Software Programs

Go Back   Computer Forums > Building Websites

Building Websites This section covers all aspects of publishing, developing and maintaining websites. Topics include: website design, graphic design, website programming, web hosting, website marketing (SEO, link exchange, publicity, advertising), monetization & etc.

Computer Geeks
» Active Discussions
Computer Geeks
No Threads to Display.
» Other Websites
- Software Publishing

- Server Hardening

Old 03-07-2006, 06:44 PM
GB Beginner

Default How did you learn about servers?

Do most of you guys have formal education in this field, or are you self taught?

Im considering taking a course, however I feel there is also so much free info online that I might be wasting my time paying for a course.

Opinions?
Old 03-07-2006, 07:42 PM
GB GEEK

Send a message via MSN to Soulwatcher

I am self taught, well sort of. I bought book after book and studied my but off. Then I started asking a ton of questions on various forums. After banging my head of the desk a million times. (just kidding ) It finally started to sink in. I bet I reformatted my first server 30+ times. You cant be afraid to mess something up. And if you do try and figure out what went wrong. Another good thing to remember if your server is giving you a error. There is a 999% chance that if you google the error your going to find a answer. If feel with all of the information available on line their really is no need to pay for a Linux coarse. Anything you want or need to know can be found out on the Internet.
Old 03-07-2006, 07:47 PM
Super Moderator
GB Advanced User

I am pretty much all self taught, only the past few years I've started taking IT training courses just for something extra to put on my resume. Nothing beats real world experience in my opinion but to an employer it's different.