Computer Geeks

Computer Geeks

Geek Shop

Geek News

Geek Stuff

Science Geek

Computer Gaming

Linux Chat

Building Websites

Computer Forums

Computer Help Forum

Computer Hardware Forum

Computer Software Programs


Go Back   Computer Forums > Building Websites

Building Websites This section covers all aspects of publishing, developing and maintaining websites. Topics include: website design, graphic design, website programming, web hosting, website marketing (SEO, link exchange, publicity, advertising), monetization & etc.

Computer Geeks
» Other Websites
- Software Publishing

- Server Hardening
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2006, 04:17 AM
DomainerZone DomainerZone is offline
Member
GB Beginner
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Default Installed Apache...Don't Know How to Start it

I installed Apache off the CentOS disc, but I don't really know how to start it up or shut it down. Is there some place that has all the commands or something? I also need to do some configuring...I think.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2006, 05:28 AM
Soulwatcher's Avatar
Soulwatcher Soulwatcher is offline
Senior Member
GB GEEK
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Send a message via MSN to Soulwatcher
Default

Sorry about getting back to you on this a day late but I have been helping developing another website. The command to start Apache (assuming that you are using Centos) would be "/usr/sbin/apachectl start"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2006, 01:09 PM
Coop Coop is offline
Member
GB Beginner
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34
Default

If you on a redhat based distribution, you can also use the command :-

service httpd start

As root. It just saves you having to remember the full path. It actually runs the /etc/init.d/httpd script, which can also be used to start the service at bootup.

To have the service start automatically, run the command :-

chkconfig httpd on

This will cause startup and shutdown links to be placed in the appropriate runlevel directories under /etc/rc.d, so the service will be started on entering runlevel 3, then stopped on either changing to a lower runlevel or doing an 'init 6' (which reboots the server).
__________________
Coop
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HTML Help provided by HTML Help Central.