Computer Gaming

Linux Chat

Building Websites

Computer Forums

Computer Help Forum

Computer Hardware Forum

Computer Software Programs

Go Back   Computer Forums > Linux Chat

Linux Chat Linux geeks unite! Discuss anything related to the Linux operating system here.

Computer Geeks
» Active Discussions
Computer Geeks
No Threads to Display.
» Other Websites
- Software Publishing

- Server Hardening

Old 04-05-2006, 04:06 AM
GB Beginner

Angry Setup DNS for Webserver

hi! im a bit noob to linux.. im have setup a webserver running on CentOS Linux but my problem is, domain registration (godaddy) requiring me to supply at least 2 nameservers. Can anyone explain me or just give me a link how DNS work.

Thanks in advanced.
Old 04-05-2006, 03:59 PM
GB GEEK

Send a message via MSN to Soulwatcher

DNS servers is how people find your website on the Internet. When you type www.mydomain.com it goes to your domain register, then it goes to the DNS servers, then they tell the computer what IP the website is using. www.zoneedit.com provides a free DNS service, is this a home webserver or is this a dedicated server? If its a dedicated server your provider should provide free DNS service.

Also are you wanting to set up your own DNS server on your webserver? I need more information if I am going to be able to help you.
Old 04-06-2006, 02:19 AM
GB Beginner

thx for the immediate reply..

yes, i wanted to setup 2 dns servers on my home network to facilitate my web server.. right now im just doing some google search because i really dont have idea howto deal with the setup and configuration needed to run my own dns servers.

my question is, my webserver is running on Linux CentOS, do i need to setup another 2 pc's running same operating system (centos) to configure as my dns servers? coz i have read about DNS and BIND setting dns servers for Master/Slave setup. does it also need to have a web server installed on both?