Computer Geeks

Computer Geeks

Geek Shop

Geek News

Geek Stuff

Science Geek

Computer Gaming

Linux Chat

Building Websites

Computer Forums

Computer Help Forum

Computer Hardware Forum

Computer Software Programs


Go Back   Computer Forums > Building Websites

Building Websites This section covers all aspects of publishing, developing and maintaining websites. Topics include: website design, graphic design, website programming, web hosting, website marketing (SEO, link exchange, publicity, advertising), monetization & etc.

Computer Geeks
» Other Websites
- Software Publishing

- Server Hardening
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2006, 07:22 PM
James72 James72 is offline
Junior Member
GB Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default Backup

What do you use for backup?
By this I mean do you conduct your own backups on your own drives/media, or do you outsource backups?
________
marijuana test

Last edited by James72; 01-21-2011 at 09:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2006, 09:56 PM
Soulwatcher's Avatar
Soulwatcher Soulwatcher is offline
Senior Member
GB GEEK
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Send a message via MSN to Soulwatcher
Default

I use a third hard drive on the server for backup. I have two 80GB hard drives running Raid 1 and a 250GB hard drive that I use for backup. Having a second or third hard drive on your server is the most cost effective method for backing up your server. But its not the safest, if some hacks your server they could destroy your backup. Or worse yet if mother nature or a fire destroys your data center your backups are lost forever. While these cases are extreme, it could happen. So I guess it depends on what your backing up. For most people backing up to a second or third hard drive on the server will be more than enough. But if your data is mission critical you should seek a off site back up. All though expensive Us Data Trust offers such a service. http://www.usdatatrust.com/landing/online-backup.asp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2006, 07:12 AM
Jason's Avatar
Jason Jason is offline
VIP Member
GB Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Jason Send a message via Yahoo to Jason
Default

I use RAID 1 too, but I wouldn't consider that a backup or archive.

But, I create archive files that are compressed.
__________________
Unlimited Net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:19 AM
Durinthiam Durinthiam is offline
Member
GB Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 51
Default

I back all my files up onto external HDD and an alternate server that only comes online to do backups. Always make two backups, because you never know what will happen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2006, 01:57 PM
job36_22 job36_22 is offline
Junior Member
GB Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 21
Default

I back everything up like soulwatcher on a third Harddrive..may not be the safest but it is as he said cost effective and its worked for me so far.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2006, 05:04 PM
QBall15j's Avatar
QBall15j QBall15j is offline
Super Moderator
GB Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 98
Default

That third hard drive is a good idea.
I should have did that, now that my server is getting more traffic and things are becoming more critical, backup is becoming more of an importance. I am using RAID 1 and have a script to compress everything into one file. Then I download that here to a home server, soon to automate that process but a third hard drive would save me on a ton of bandwidth.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2006, 10:55 PM
Ronin Ronin is offline
Junior Member
GB Beginner
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason
I use RAID 1 too, but I wouldn't consider that a backup or archive.

But, I create archive files that are compressed.
I have never understood how to use RAID.. I learnt all about it in theory but never tried it.
Its basically just creating mirrors of your drive, right?

How many hard drives do you need for RAID?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-02-2006, 04:46 AM
QBall15j's Avatar
QBall15j QBall15j is offline
Super Moderator
GB Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 98
Default

Ronin,
Check out this link for more info on the different levels of RAID.
http://www.acnc.com/04_01_00.html
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:14 PM
James72 James72 is offline
Junior Member
GB Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks for the tips people!

Looks like RAID and/or external drives are the way to go with backups
________
herbal vaporizer

Last edited by James72; 01-21-2011 at 09:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-18-2006, 03:40 PM
cyberhostuk cyberhostuk is offline
Junior Member
GB Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via MSN to cyberhostuk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James72
Thanks for the tips people!

Looks like RAID and/or external drives are the way to go with backups
Agreed.. but depending on the nature of your website, I highly recommend off-site backups.
__________________
CyberHostUK
Reliable, Affordable Web Hosting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HTML Help provided by HTML Help Central.